Partisanship: Thinking as a Non-Thinking Herd

It betrays me to say that I don’t typically like clubs. Clubs in the other sense rather than the sense in which one refers to “clubbing”. I believe this dislike arises from my experience in group identity becoming a gossip game in which I would ignore some people and listen to others, all the time defending my own brittle clique regardless of it’s actions. The Mayor of my town is an elder of a Presbyterian church that I used to go to (I still stand as a member) . I also had a physical trainer who happened to know a bit about this elder/mayor figure. This physical trainer was involved in town affairs and attended each town meeting. During one of these meetings it was noted by my trainer that the Mayor said very inappropriate things during this documented but unbridled public forum. The Mayor said some insensitive things and also made a false accusation of this man during this meeting. I remember the timidity with which I began friendly conversation with my trainer for weeks because of my affiliation with the Mayor which overshadowed what I held to be true. In the same way, I find it impossible to have rational discussion when all involved are merely speaking for their herd.  Democrat and Republican and all other parties (herds)- these distinctions should not be made. It is not acceptable for the representers of America to assemble as a mob.

Leave a Reply

