Defiance: The Beginning of Wisdom.

“The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.”

Proverbs 9:10.

No. The beginning of wisdom is defiance. If you have someone or something in your life telling you, “You must fear God” they are wanting you to fear your own thoughts. And the implications of fearing an omnipotent and omniscient God are as follows:

One. You can’t test certain concepts for fear of cosmic treason.

Two. You can’t question any authority because to believe in the Christian God is to believe his word (and I will argue you and correct you theologically if you resist this statement) and his “word” says that you must subject yourself to the “governing authorities” Romans 13:1.

Three. You must indoctrinate yourself (in order to avoid the comic treason and subsequent eternal punishment) in the process of what Orwell called “double think”. The process of rejecting what simple thought says to be true and rethinking it under the commandment of authority.

For these reasons I now reject anything, including Christianity, that tells me that I cannot think for myself. This is not to say that I will live without reason but quite the opposite. I will use my brain and not let someone use their’s as a substitute to my own. I will begin with defiance. I will use my own brain. I will use my own head. You cannot tell me what I can think based on authority. To do what you want me to do without my own consideration and option to reject or accept your command or proposition is to ignore my own individual right and competency and to doubt that is to be unreasonable.

Leave a Reply

